Board of Directors

The SeaDoc Society’s Board of Directors ensures that the SeaDoc Society’s work is responsive and relevant to the scientific needs of the region. Members are appointed in recognition of the prominence they have achieved in their careers, and/or for their efforts on behalf of ecosystem health in the Salish Sea region.


Audrey Benedict
Author and Founder of Cloud Ridge Naturalists
Ward, CO


Deborah Brosnan
Marine ecologist and conservation biologist
Professor of Biology (adj) at Virginia Tech, Innovation Center, Dept of Biology
President, The Brosnan Center for Marine Science


Kevin Campion
Owner, Deep Green Wilderness
Seattle, WA

Tom Cowan
Local citizen
Lopez Island, WA

Gary Davis
President/Chief Scientist
GEDavis & Associates
Westlake Village, CA

Leslie Dierauf
USGS, Retired
Seattle, WA

photo of Read Langenbach

Read Langenbach
Local citizen
Seattle, WA

photo of Lisa Newland

Lisa Newland
Local citizen
Everett, WA

Kevin Ranker

Kevin Ranker
Washington State Senator
Orcas Island, WA

Kit Rawson

Kit Rawson
Retired Conservation Science Program Manager, Tulalip Tribes
Mount Vernon, WA


Bryce Rhodes
Orcas Island, WA

Rochelle Severson

Rochelle Severson
Local citizen
Orcas Island, WA and Huntington Beach, CA

Past Board Members:

Molly Bailey, Seattle, WA

Sam Buck, San Juan Island, WA

Alan Fritzberg, Bellingham, WA

Wally Gudgell, Orcas Island, WA

Scott Halquist, Orcas Island, WA

Bill Hoglund, Seattle, WA

Tom Hughes, Seattle, WA

Richard Keck, Orcas Island, WA

Grant Kirby, Mt. Vernon, WA

Kathy McDowell, Orcas Island, WA

Ron McDowell, Orcas Island, WA

Nan McKay, Seattle, WA

Win Rhodes, Orcas Island, WA

Share this page on your favorite social network